Latest Book Reviews

Rating system:

1 GAG

2♥♥ BLAH

3♥♥♥ YOU’RE GETTING THERE

4♥♥♥♥ ENJOYABLE

5♥♥♥♥♥ SUPERB



 

May 19, 2015

falling for cindy fellars

Falling for Cindy Fellars

Regina Puckett

Such a fun take on a modern Cinderella. You’ll enjoy everything about this short story, the wit, the wooing, the modern identities of the characters, etc. My rating: 5♥♥♥♥♥ Superb

Buy the book: Amazon


May 19, 2015

snowbound with the baron

Snowbound with the Baronet

Deborah Hale

A fun, clean historical that sets the H/H in unexpected situations for the era. Class distinctions are blurred when they get trapped by the snow and have to stay at a small farm. The growing interest between H/H is sure to keep you reading. My rating: 4♥♥♥♥ Enjoyable

Buy the book: Amazon


 May 19, 2015

difference between night and day

The Difference Between Night and Day

Melissa Turner Lee

Interesting take on vampires. I usually don’t enjoy a Christian theme stuck in a vampire plot, but this one worked for me because (spoiler) being a vampire was the result of a disease. It still had a paranormal element that couldn’t be attributed to anything but the supernatural, but I liked it. The H/H are younger so this would probably appeal very much to a YA audience. I enjoyed the faith elements and all the suspense and action very much. A good romance. My rating: 4♥♥♥♥ Enjoyable

Buy the book: Amazon


 November 24, 2014

I was there when the giant fellI Was There When the Giant Fell

Adam Nitz

There were so many interesting story lines in this book: what is was like to serve in King Saul’s court as he lost his grip on reality, the events that led to the fight between David and Goliath, and the main narrative that details the life of Benaiah. Because his birth was the result of his single mother’s rape, Benaiah is an outcast throughout his life. Nothing he does is ever good enough, and he finally chooses to join King Saul’s army so he can prove himself and win the woman he loves, whose father won’t let her marry someone so lowly. The author has done a good job with creating an intriguing fictional setting for this time period. His writing voice is pleasant and easy to read. I was provided a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. My rating: 4♥♥♥♥ Enjoyable

Buy the Book: Amazon


November 1, 2014

The Bound Heart (The Everstone Chronicles)

Dawn Crandall

What a picture of redemption and love! This is the 2nd installment in The Everstone Chronicles, and we see familiar characters as well as learn more about the ones we already love. The heroine Meredith’s situation is heartbreaking! Through juvenile naivete, she gets herself in a situation that results in being ruined by Vance. No longer the pure socialite, she can see no way to redeem herself except through marrying the man who ruined her, although Vance is long gone to tour Europe. When her longtime friend Lawry re-enters her life, she is torn. Lawry seems intent on showing her what real love should look like. Can she accept God’s forgiveness? Can she forgive herself? Can she allow herself to love Lawry? When Vance shows up and offers marriage, Meredith has to make a choice.
A heart-breaking portrayal of the aftermath of rape from a supposed friend. Without showing us the horrid details of the act, author Dawn Crandall manages to impact the reader with the utter sense of betrayal, loss, and confusion. The heroine’s agonizing struggle with self-loathing is dead-on. The only reason I gave this 4.5 instead of 5 stars is the use of excessive narrative and backstory instead of actual dialogue and action. HOWEVER, that is merely a personal preference. All the writing is extremely good and well edited. I highly recommend the book and the series. I can’t wait to read the next one because the author has built up the anticipation for what will happen between two more characters I’ve come to love. I was given an advance copy for review; the opinions presented are my own. My rating: 4♥♥♥♥ Enjoyable and almost a 5

Buy the Book: Amazon


September 26, 2014

The Place of Voices (TimeDrifter SeriesBook 1)

Lauren Lynch

The Place of Voices is a seemingly magical land where three young people, including a Mayan princess from another time, confront their fears and disappointments. Their guide encourages them to rest and enjoy, but each of the young people are drawn into conflict with their own personal demons. They have choices to make. Will they follow the one true God or seek to resolve conflicts in their own strength? Perhaps seek the aid of more sinister characters? The conflicts create a vivid depiction of spiritual warfare
The story is lively and easy to follow, even when the plot takes you a few places you didn’t expect. The settings are extraordinary. You feel the heaviness of the jungle, the beauty of the wildlife, and the delightful ambiance of a tree house with every convenience you’d ever want.
I was provided a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated, and these opinions are my own. My rating: 5♥♥♥♥♥ Superb

Buy the Book: Amazon


July 23, 2014

Back to Bienville, A Journey Into Wellness

Melinda Matthews

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I began reading Melinda’s book. I anticipated a list of things that brought wellness into the author’s life with some spiritual encouragement along the way. What I got was a whole lot more. This is an autobiography of how the author felt at each stage of her journey, how that affected her relationships with others, how it affected her relationship with God.
I enjoyed her reminisces. Her style draws you in. Never boring. I felt like I got to know her and her friends and family. I like that she never cut herself slack. She was completely open about her mistakes and her achievements. It made her success all the more believable.
I never knew The Wizard of Oz was based on a dream. Melinda draws some insightful conclusions about symbolism that truly intrigued me. Wow! I will never look at the Wizard of Oz the same way again.
More than anything, I’d say this is a spiritual journey that brought physical healing. If you’d rather have a cure (a pill, homeopathy or exercise) that doesn’t include forming relationship with God, Melinda talks about what worked and what didn’t in the medical field and homeopathic remedies. However, this book is so much more. It’s a revelation of God’s patient love and how he freed Melinda from so much more than sickness.
From a writing standpoint, Melinda has a pleasant “voice.” The book is well-edited and easy to read. I highly recommend it. My rating: 5♥♥♥♥♥ Superb

Buy the Book: Amazon

Connect with Melinda:

Amazon author page

Twitter


 

July 3, 2014

HesitantHeiressThe Hesitant Heiress

Dawn Crandall

Often when I read a book, I spend the whole time trying to ignore all the ways it should be edited better (one consequence of being an author, I guess). In the case of The Hesitant Heiress, I never got the chance. This book is well-written and well-paced. From the first chapter, we have an intriguing dilemma that begs resolve. I liked the heroine. I cheered for her. I disliked those she disliked. I was so impatient to discover who would win her heart that I read as fast as I could, finishing the book in one day. I particularly enjoyed the author’s way of writing scenes that had nothing to do with the romance between the hero/heroine. Usually, those are throw-away for me. Unless the writing is stellar, I scan non-romantic scenes just to make sure I don’t miss a relevant fact. This book was so well-conceived that every scene was interesting and drew me into the storyline. I wanted to know about everyone involved, which will keep me buying books in the series. I loved that the author didn’t dwell on historical phrases just to make the story sound historical. All the phrasing and dialogue sounded natural, not forced. And the descriptions of clothing…some books go on and on ad nauseam about the different details in historical attire, not so in The Hesitant Heiress, where every description seemed a portrayal of what would occur naturally in real life. Probably the most impressive feat was the great reveal. I never saw it coming. Though the author alludes to the less than stellar attributes of several characters, I never suspected the villain nor that he was quite so vile. Bravo! Excellent debut, Dawn Crandall. I eagerly anticipate the following books in the series. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. My rating: 5♥♥♥♥♥ Superb

You can find the author here:

Dawn Crandall, Author of inspirational historical romantic suspense from first person point of view.

The Everstone Chronicles
from Whitaker House Books

Book 1, The Hesitant Heiress releases August 2014
Book 2, The Bound Heart releases November 2014
Book 3, The Captive Imposter releases February 2015
Twitter (@dawnwritesfirst)
Pinterest

 


June 8, 2014

Jump Start Your Book Promotions: Proven Tips to Get the Most out of Paid and Free Book Promotions

R P Dahlke

There were several promotional techniques I’d been considering, but I’d have to do some research. No longer. Dahlke gives step-by-step information that shows you what to do and where to go to get the best bang for your $. I particularly liked her opinions based on her own experiences. My rating: 5♥♥♥♥♥ Superb

Buy the Book: Amazon

Find the author: Twitter


April 10, 2014

The Stripped

J.L. Kelly

Though I wasn’t crazy about the cover, (nudity usually indicates content I don’t enjoy), I decided to take a chance based on the description. It inspired me. It tackled real issues. This book might not be for everyone. I’ve noticed that some readers expect Christian books to have characters that react perfectly to challenging situations. I’ve never met a Christian like that. Real people have real problems and don’t always react in a perfect reflection of God. This book is like that. The characters genuinely want to reflect relationship with God but sometimes life overwhelms them and they fail. Then they repent and apply what God has shown them about themselves and others. Though there is no profanity in the book, the author mentions when a character curses. If the notion that a Christian could curse will bother you, this isn’t the book for you. This IS the book for you if you want to enjoy a WELL-CRAFTED ROMANCE that leads you to a deeper relationship with God. The hero is a strong depiction of the heart of God…unfailing love that never gives up even in the face of fierce rejection. What I love about this book is that very concept…God chases us. He romances us. He longs to show His love for us. The romance in this book is a heart-felt portrayal of God’s love. My rating: 5♥♥♥♥♥ Superb

Buy the Book: Amazon

Connect with the author: Twitter


September 14, 2013

Treasures of Darkness

Trish Jenkins

Treasures of Darkness is a story of a Christian wife and mother’s incarceration and how she fought the forces of darkness around her. I loved this diary of her experiences fighting principalities while loving the people being used by the forces of darkness. If you need to learn spiritual warfare, this is an autobiographical account of how to walk in victory despite the enemies around you. She relates how she took hold of the enemies’ strongholds and changed the spiritual atmosphere. I was so deeply affected by her use of fasting that my husband and I immediately went into a long-term fast. This book will boost your faith and your effectiveness as a believer, which was her constant prayer…Lord, make me effective. Get it and read it!
Trish offered this book to me as a gift, which in no way affected my opinion. My rating: 5♥♥♥♥♥ Superb

Buy the Book: Amazon

Connect with the author: Twitter Website